When Violence Arises

Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 3, 2017

I wrote this prayer/cry to God in response to the attacks in London today, and reflecting on those in Alexandria, Tanta, Al-Fu’ah, Kafraya, Rashidin, and other places too:

Holy One, I just want to hide;
to take refuge
in a high and lonely place
where none can find me:

unpopulated,
insulated,
inaccessible,
protected,

safe
from hatred,
and horror,
and violence.

Like a nestling, resting
in a feathered loft
far above the noise,
and claws and teeth,

peace-filled
and untroubled,
unaware and unafraid
of what lies beneath.

If only I could fly
on the wings of a dove
to a tall mountaintop,
or shelter in a forest glen!

Yet even there
troubles will find me,
blood-stained hands
will touch me.

The vicious multiply
our sorrows,
worshiping their gods
of death and pain and fame,

lining our streets
with human sacrifice —
their names
will never pass my lips.

There is no good, God,
apart from You,
keep me secure, right here,
within Your heart;

I shall not flee,
I will not run away,
I will not succumb
to fear or hate or vengeance;

I shall not be moved,
my soul will not be twisted,
I will not turn from the Path
of love and life and light.

Therefore my heart is glad,
and my spirit rejoices,
for I will not fall into the Pit
I will not contribute to Evil.

You, O Beloved,
guide us in the Way of life
that leads to the fullness of joy
forevermore.

Amen.

Virtual hugs and real-time blessings,

Deborah  ♰

Suggested Spiritual Exercises

Be gentle with yourself in these violent times.

The most powerful answer to evil is to do good.

“Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as ever you can.”

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Deborah Beach Giordano, Prayer, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

