St. Patrick’s Shield

The Lorica of Saint Patrick, reinterpreted

I arise today
through the gracious power
of the Eternal:
Creator,
Redeemer,
Enlivening Spirit
breathing into me,
lifting me up,
strengthening my faith
and my courage.

I arise today
inspired by the life,
death
and resurrection
of Christ Jesus, my redeemer;
by the wisdom of his teachings,
by the depth of his compassion,
by the strength of his faith,
by the extent of his healing power,
by the abundance of his transforming love.

I arise today
in the company
of the joyful cherubim,
the radiant seraphim,
the vigilant angels,
the mighty archangels.

I arise today
a descendant
of the women at the tomb,
the apostles,
martyrs,
saints and strivers,
the merciful and righteous;
the great cloud of witnesses
who came before me
and whose faith and courage
challenge me
to follow Christ’s holy Way.

I arise today
through the power of heaven;
radiance of the sun,
splendor of fire,
speed of lightning,
suppleness of the wind,
depth of the sea,
expanse of the sky,
stability of the earth,
firmness of the rock.

I arise today
with divine wisdom to guide me;
holy strength to sustain me,
Christ’s vision within my eyes,
Christ’s hearing within my ears,
Christ’s words within my mouth,
Christ’s thoughts within my mind,
Christ’s gentleness within my touch,
Christ’s love within my heart.

I arise today
with God’s power to guard me,
God’s grace to shield me,
God’s angels to protect me
from the snares of the wicked,
from temptations and torments,
from any who wish me ill,
whether far or near,
whether many or few.

I call forth today
all the power of heaven
to stand between me and evil,
against every cruel and merciless force
that would harm my body or soul,
confuse my mind,
or grieve my spirit,
against hatred, envy, and evil intentions,
against wounding, deception, and lies;
Christ shield me today
and guide me in all that I do,
in all that I am.

Christ above me, Christ below me,
Christ to my left and my right;
Christ before me, Christ behind me,
Christ with me by day and by night;
Christ in my awakening, Christ as I sleep;
Christ in the heart of all who think of me,
Christ in the mouth of all who speaks
Christ in the eye that sees me,
Christ in the ear that hears me.

I arise today
through a mighty strength,
the gracious power
of the Eternal:
Creator,
Redeemer,
Enlivening Spirit,
breathing into me,
lifting me up,
strengthening my faith
and my courage.

Amen.

Deborah Beach Giordano
St. Patrick’s Day 2017

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Deborah Beach Giordano, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

