A Cry in the Darkness

Ultimate Meaning
As Christians we are often guilty of what a friend of mine calls “fluffy bunny theology.” A faith based on sunshine and flowers and little lambs bounding through green pastures. But life is not always easy or pleasant. If our faith counts for something — if it counts for anything — it will speak to us in times of suffering and pain as well as when life is peaceful and good.

Psalm 3 and 4 ~ reinterpreted by Deborah

O Lord, I am surrounded!
I wonder if You know…

I am so tired,
so anxious,
so weary of the fight.

Pain, grief, and confusion,
my constant companions,
an unholy trinity

stalk my every moment,
assail me in broad daylight,
and attack throughout the night;

their incessant, infernal din
erodes my hope and my courage
and drains my will to live.

O Lord, I am exhausted!
I wonder if You hear ….

My head throbs,
my heart aches,
I cannot rest or sleep.

I lie down and rise again,
there is no peace nor comfort,
there is no respite for me.

How many are my enemies!
Ten thousand thousand fears
are encamped around my soul;

they strike when I am weakest
pangs of guilt, barbs of regret,
thoughts that cut and wound.

O Lord, I am despairing!
I wonder if You care…

I cannot run away,
there is nowhere to hide,
no shelter from the storm.

If I flee to the highest mountain
or sail to a distant shore,
still …. You are there.

You!
There in the stillness
I mistook for silence;
You in the midst of it all.

What brings You here,
into the depths alongside me?
Why would You endure
this suffering, confusion, and pain?

O Lord, I am encircled
by Your love for me!

Virtual hugs and real-time blessings,

Deborah

Suggested Spiritual Exercise:

Reflect on this Scripture passage:

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth.

He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.
~ Isaiah 40:28-29 (NIV)

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Reflections, Scriptures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

