Preparing to Depart

In the silence, my soul waits;
restless as a traveler
whose departure
was delayed;

my sights are set
on a distant shore
far beyond this place
and time;

a land so perfect
and so peaceful,
my arrival there
will be like coming home;

I feel it in my spirit
and see it in my mind’s eye:
in my imagination
I am already there;

forgive me for my hurry;
understand
that in my rush,
I may not say goodbye,

don’t cling to me as I leave,
but hold my memory
close to your heart,
do not worry and do not grieve;

dust and ashes,
a lump of clay,
all else vanishes
but love never goes away.

Deborah Beach Giordano
August 5, 2016

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

