Prayer: When enemies surround us 

Who are these people, the ones I thought I knew?
They wish me ill, they scorn and sneer,
they covet my every success and envy all I have.

Disease assails my body and they rub their hands in glee.
“He is sick! He may die!
And then there’ll be more for me!”

Hateful is their attitude, vicious their assault.

Holy God, they are all around me,
smirking at my weakness, exploiting my kindness.
“We’ve got your number, and we know how to use it.”

O Lord God, how it hurts!

But You, O Eternal, shield me from their barbs;
You, O blessed Comforter, encourage me and give me hope.
When I call on God, I am heard, and I am answered tenderly.

O Lord God, I give You thanks.

You are my sanctuary; a place of safety and peace
far from the growls and frowning faces. I can sleep and arise refreshed,
for God’s grace is sufficient for me.

I am not afraid of those who have made themselves my enemies —
though they surround me.

Arise, Almighty God!

Let me see Your face, let me draw on Your strength.
For You alone can sustain me, You alone can crush my fears;
You alone can lift me up.

The Eternal is our salvation. Hallelujah!

Bless, O bless Your people, my God, O Source of Every Good.

Hallelujah!

Amen.

based on Psalm 3
Deborah Beach Giordano
July 2015

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

