4th of July Prayer

Deborah Beach Giordano
© July 4, 2015

On this day, I give thanks.

I give thanks
for that Huguenot ancestor
who would not bow down
and came to seek her freedom

On this day I give thanks.

I give thanks
for that wild-eyed young man
who threw himself into the fray
and came out whole and hopeful on the other side.

On this day I give thanks.

I give thanks
for that wily Irish fellow
who told the Brits to take a hike
and came to seek his fortune.

On this day I give thanks.

I give thanks
for the courage of my ancestors
who faced the unknown
and lived to tell the tale.

On this day I give thanks.

I give thanks
for those who believed
in an impossible dream
and worked to make it real.

On this day I give thanks.

I give thanks
for our hope,
for our courage,
for all that may yet come true.

On this day I offer a prayer.

I pray
that the good, the kind,
the the best, the brightest,
may come shining through.

On this day I offer a prayer.

God,
bless America;
America,
bless God.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

