The Shepherd

A retelling of Psalm 23
from the sheep’s viewpoint
Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 2014

He has a Voice
that fills my soul
with delight;
I recognize it
instantly
and come running
when I hear his call.

My beloved shepherd
speaks to me
tenderly;
he knows my name
and my needs,
his compassion
knows no bounds.

He leads me
gently
through the valleys,
across the mountains,
and along the winding roads,
to bring me
safely where I belong.

He protects
and shelters me
in sunshine
and shadow;
when lightning flashes,
thunder roars,
and wolves howl.

He will lift me up
if I stumble or fall,
and if I wander off
and get stuck or snared
or lost
he will search anxiously
until I’m found again.

He is a Light
shining in the darkness
so I can always
find my way;
and I shall never fear,
for He is ever-faithful,
a true and trusted friend.

He leads me
to soft green meadows
watered abundantly
by clear, fresh streams,
my heart grows lighter
my spirit rejoices;
and I frolic like a lamb.

He blesses my days,
and keeps watch
throughout my nights;
my whole life will be filled
with love and kindness
and I will dwell
with my beloved Shepherd forever.

 

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

