In the Darkness

For those dealing with depression

Deborah Beach Giordano
© October 3, 2013

Blessed Jesus, you traveled into Hell itself to save those who were without hope. You destroyed the barrier that kept them in the terrible darkness. Do as much, O Lord, for me.

Forgive me my little faith. In times like these it is quite petite: a slender thing, a windswept reed, trembling in awful fear.

Hear my quiet groaning, my yearning sorrow, my weary tears – the many human weaknesses I spend endless hours attempting to deny.

Yes, Lord, I sometimes stumble, I often struggle, and I’ve been known to fall. I’ve been short-tempered and demanding – and as for forgiveness, I’m afraid that’s in short supply.

Sadly, O Friend of my heart, the one I forgive least of all is myself. I adhere to a strict Zero Tolerance Policy toward my mistakes, limitations, and failings. I grieve any effort that falls short of perfection.

What that means, Source of Healing Love, is that I set for myself an impossible goal; I’m trying to compete with the angels themselves: insisting on an unachievable ideal.

O Kind and Generous Protector; save me from my harshest critic and fiercest judge. Help me to give the gift of love and compassion to one who needs it greatly: teach me to show true Christian friendship to myself.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Darkness

  1. Oak Abbey says:

    ~Amen.

Leave a Reply

