Protect Us!

Inspired by Psalm 5
Deborah Beach Giordano
© August 1, 2013

I need You to do something, O Beloved;
relieve my suffering, comfort my soul,
turn my weeping into rejoicing.

My Friend and my God,
I call out to you night and day, and I wait….
for You are not a fan of evil; You do not tolerate it.

Braggarts and bullies have no standing with You;
the destructive and the deceitful,
the vicious and the vindictive – You hate them all.

You refute their lies
and pull down the barriers they erect
(the Lord despises those who confuse, deceive and misdirect).

But because of Your extraordinary love,
I will enter Your house and sit at Your feet
in breathless awe and admiration of Your glory and goodness.

Lead me, O Gracious One, to do what is right –
for my enemies tempt me to respond in kind;
fearing and sneering.

Clear my vision,
purify my heart;
let me see the Way that You’ve revealed.

They wouldn’t know the truth
if it bit them on the nose;
they love to tear down and condemn,
poison drips from their mouths,
their throats are open graves, traps for the unwary.

On their own heads be it, O God;
let them trip over their own words
and fall upon the harsh judgments
they themselves have issued –
for they have turned against You.

But let all those who know You truly rejoice;
give us voices to sing in joyful praise.
Let our words lead others away from harm and hurt,
and bring them to the holy Land of healing and perfect love.

Bless us, Gracious One,
and gently form us
into the people You would have us be;
kind, caring and faithful.

Open our hearts
and increase our understanding,
that we may become
as merciful and compassionate to others
as You are to us.

Help us to pray for all who are in need,
even those who do evil.
Touch their souls, Great Redeemer,
cause them to repent of their wickedness
and turn to You; teach them –
teach us all –
to bless and not to curse.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

