The Owl’s Morning Prayer

Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 20, 2013

Oh God, it’s morning
again.
Late last night
before I went to sleep
I had big plans
great ideas,
and lots of energy
to go along with them.

Now, in the frail light
as I blink
myself awake
the dreams disappear;
projects loom large,
daunting,
difficult;
like climbing Everest
using just your claws and beak.

I get tired
just thinking about it.

I need a lifeline, Lord,
and a good swift yank
to pull me
from my bed,
into the midst
of all that is –
and I know
there’s a whole lot
of “is” out there….

for which I feel
utterly unprepared.

Holy One,
I pray that things
will look different
in an hour
or two;
that my nighttime visions
will be transformed
into daylight deeds
of kindness
and compassion;

that the possible
can become the real.

Oh God, it’s morning
again;
give me strength
to face the day,
awaken my spirit
to what I can do,
help me to stretch
my wings
and fly.

Amen.LEAR-Owl-in-flight

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

