A Modern Prophet?

Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 14 , 2013

Hey, God, can’t you hear me?
Have You shut the door,
plugged Your ears,
or gone away
on an extended vacation?

I wouldn’t blame You if You did,
divine patience notwithstanding;
even I have grown tired
of my incessant whining:
I simply can’t
shut up.

I don’t know what else to do;
there is no where else to turn, my God,
and so I repeat my concerns
over
and over
and over
again –
to You.

But I’ve heard
that faith means asking
once
and letting go;
never looking back,
certain that we’ve been heard –
transmission ends
over and out,
amen.

You are not deaf,
You know Your Mind,
You’ve set the course,
we are to pray boldly
do our best
and leave the rest
to You.

That’s all well and good
I suppose
for stronger souls,
simpler problems,
or folks with less on their mind …..
but as for me,
I simply can’t
shut up;

the endless sorrows
and worldly worries;
the wars and sickness,
the downright meanness
it’s all to much –
I cannot be silent
these many troubles
press me to speak.

Did You hear me?
What I just said?
that’s the language
of the ancient prophets;
those roving wildmen
who proclaim
that they “must speak,”
the words
that come
from You;

The pressure
I am feeling
is just as great
as what they knew
except I must
speak my piece
to You;
I simply
can’t
shut up.

Perhaps that’s it,
the point and purpose,
perhaps I’ve found
the silver lining
to this darkling cloud;
within my rants
and my ravings
my true vocation
has been revealed.

A prophet –
inversely positioned,
not as one who hears
the divine voice;
called, instead
to be a speaker:
transmitting
the people’s concerns
to Your holy Ear.

Well if that’s true,
then sit down
and fasten
Your celestial seatbelt;
prepare Your holy Self
for a heck of a ride;
there’s much to tell,
and I guarantee
I simply
won’t
shut up.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

