A Soldier’s Prayer

Deborah Beach Giordano
© May 27, 2013
based on Psalm 7

A Soldier’s Prayer

O Holy God, be my shelter, I pray;
save and protect me
from those who roar and hunt for me,
seeking to tear me into pieces
and drag me away
where no one can find me.

O Holy God, if I have done anything –
anything malicious or wicked:
if I have betrayed a friend,
or robbed the innocent,
or hurt anyone who is not my enemy –
then go ahead and hand me over;
let them catch me, kill me,
and trample my honor into the dust.

Arise, O my God,
show Yourself
as an all-powerful warrior,
put on your armor, raise your banner,
let loose your arrows;
take my side,
fight with me
against the fury of my enemies.

Awaken, O my God,
to the call sent forth for you:
respond to the evil-doers,
answer the cries of their victims;
take your place on the Judgment Seat,
insist on what is fair and good;
let every nation bow before you,
as you proclaim justice for all people.

Judge me on my good points,
O Source of Perfect Compassion;
forgive my ignorance, All-Knowing King.

End the evildoing of the wicked,
reveal their hiding places,
turn back their weapons;
uphold those who do what is right and just,
those who fight not for glory
but because we must;

You alone, Holy One,
know what we truly think
and feel –
You alone
understand my fear,
You alone
comprehend my prayer,
You alone, O merciful Judge.

God is my shield and defense,
the reliable Friend
who stands fast
beside the honest,
who sustains our courage,
who comforts our hearts.

Be alert for those devoted to evil,
who plot and scheme
and delight in doing harm.
May they fall into their own traps,
their wickedness return to them,
their violence fall on their own heads.

And I,
may I be a witness to God’s righteousness;
my life a testimony to God’s mercy,
my prayers praising the Eternal,
the Holy,
the Lord Most High.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

