Confidence in God

inspired by Psalm 32
Deborah Beach Giordano
© March 18, 2013

How glorious are You, Beloved,
Most-Merciful,
Source of all Life and Love.
You free us from self-reproach and sin,
and inspire our spirits to sing songs
of thanksgiving and purest delight.

My soul was weak and weary.
Day and night I felt a weight upon me
my spirit was as hard and dry as the desert.
There was no life in me.

At last I could hold back no longer
I confessed all to You;
I did not try to deceive or dissemble
or save face.

I gave an honest recounting
of the hurts I had endured,
the wounds I bore,
the grief I carried,
the anger I had contained
and compressed
until it had become as dark and dense
as coal.

I held nothing back,
hid nothing in the shadows;
I unearthed every layer,
unwrapped each secret and shame
that shrouded my soul.

And light
came streaming
into the world.

It was as if a boulder had been rolled away
and my spirit could at last breathe free.
Gasping for breath like a newborn,
I stretched forth my arms and cried out with joy.

I spoke from my heart, Holy One,
and You released me
from the bonds of sin and sadness.
I trusted in You, and my life was restored.

You are my Sanctuary,
my Protector and Deliverer;
I am at peace,
I am safe,
I am Yours forever and ever.

Be glad and rejoice, O people of God,
and let your hearts sing songs of joy.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

