Prayer for Protection

Inspired by Psalm 56
Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 10, 2013

Holy God, protect me – for troubles pursue me relentlessly,
like hounds after a hare.
They band together; they lie in wait;
they follow my footsteps; they seek my life.

I take shelter in your Shadow, panting and frightened,
my heart pounding in my ears.

There is nowhere else, Eternal One, for me to go;
there is no one else, Patient Friend, who will understand.

Here all noise and tumult is very far away;
here where all is still and quiet I can rest
and breathe and think.
Here I am safe and secure, free from all distractions.

In Your Presence, I am no longer afraid,
for nothing can harm me.
There are no fearsome future what-ifs
or lingering past regrets,
only the glorious eternal Now.

Though evils may scratch at my doorway,
though they snarl and growl and howl,
when I call to You they will slink harmlessly away –
I am held securely in Your heart.

Whatever may come my way,
I will not falter or fail or flee.
I place my trust and stake my life on You.

Your powerful love infuses my soul with courage,
gives my spirit strength,
and makes me jump for joy.

bunny.thanks to wikimedia

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

