The Song of Miriam

an interpretation of The Song of Miriam
Exodus 15
Deborah Beach Giordano
© November 25, 2012

I am giving a shout-out to God;
the glorious, the powerful.
The Mighty One knocked down the obstacles
that were blocking my way
and tossed them aside
like so many empty milk cartons.

My strength is renewed and increased;
with God by my side I will not be afraid.
A part of heaven is here with us:
a sanctuary in the midst of noise and chaos
where I am safe and secure.

That’s my God:
a source of joy that I cannot keep from praising;
a fact of life I want everyone to know.

My God is a force to be reckoned with;
known by many names: Powerful, Compassionate,
Fierce Warrior, Merciful Lord, Final Judge.
My God is sensed but not seen;
recognized in mighty acts, healing works, amazing creation,
and transforming love.

My God upholds me
and keeps me from falling into the abyss,
the deep and deadly darkness from which there is
no escape.

Threats and temptations are cast out;
disappearing from the face of the earth,
crumbling into nothingness.
They cannot harm me.

You are the power, O Lord, and the glory;
you have overcome evil, once and for all.

No one can hold a candle to you, Eternal One.
What other can compare in radiant holiness,
universal renown,
and uncounted miracles?

All other gods are mere idols of wood and clay.
You flex your muscles; they collapse into dust.

With constant, passionate love
you led the people you rescued from slavery;
with your great power
you brought them safely to your sanctuary.

You call to us and establish us as your very own;
in your presence we find rest and peace.

The Lord, the Mighty,
shall reign for ever and ever.
Thanks be to God!

 

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

