In the presence of God

In honor of M’s Continuing Ministry
© November 30, 2012
Deborah Beach Giordano

When they said to me,
“Come and serve as a priest of the Holy One.”
I wept with joy.

The first time I stood at the altar
I was dizzy as if at a great height;
as if I were upon the holy hill itself,
at the place
You revealed Yourself to Moses.

The air was heavy with Your presence,
fragrant with a rich perfume,
shimmering with radiant light.

As we sang,
the great community of the faithful
joined with us in praising You,
“Holy, holy, holy Lord,
heaven and earth are filled with Your glory.”

Their sainted voices
echoed across the ages,
blending and harmonizing with our own;
creating a sweet, celestial music.

We were one with all those
who have taken shelter under Your wing;
those who now rest from their labors
and those who toil in your vineyards this day.

It was a huge family reunion
with hearts near to bursting with joy.

On that day I set foot in paradise,
and it filled me
with an insatiable longing
to be there always.

And so I pray;
I pray for myself:
that I may serve God
each day
with all that I am;
that I may live with compassion
and die in peace,
safe always in the arms of the Beloved.

I pray for those who seek after
they know-not-what,
that they may find
divine nourishment
for their souls.

I pray for all God’s children
who dwell upon the earth,
that they may find
peace and joy
now
and eternally.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

