Psalm 22, part 2

Psalm 22 verses 15a-31
retold by Deborah Beach Giordano
© October 19, 2012

Holy God, where are You?

Vultures encircle me, hyenas snuffle and howl, anxious to pick apart my bones. Enemies snicker and gloat over my condition as they plot to divide up my possessions.

But not You! Lord, you will not forsake me. You are my strength; be with me, I pray.

Protect my hurting heart from their cruel remarks, rescue my precious, irreplaceable soul from vicious spirits.

When friends and family gather together I will tell them of Your mighty works; I will praise You in all I say and do

If you trust in God, say so! All you who have seen His goodness, give thanks! Honor the Compassionate One — for he is not disgusted by afflictions, he does not hate or scorn those who suffer; he does not avoid them, but hears their cries for help.

The evils that surround us are not God’s doing; pain and poverty are not punishments from above. The will of the Lord is for the poor to be clothed, the sorrowing to be comforted, the hungry to be fed, the weak protected.

The grasping and the greedy will be dragged down by their riches, as millstones around the neck; weights of their own devising. They will become dust — wealth cannot give them life.

The day will soon come when all people, far and wide, to the ends of the earth, will turn to God. In gratitude and humility they will serve Him, recognizing that His Way leads to the fullness of joy.

Future generations will pass the word along, proclaiming God’s goodness forever and ever. Rejoice, for the transformation has already begun!

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

