A Counter Cultural Prayer

Deborah Beach Giordano
© July 31, 2012

I need help, God,
violence is all around me;
jostling crowds
and traffic jams,
pushing
and shoving
and swearing,
raving
and ranting
and road rage,
slams
and slurs
and blame;
trampling my spirit,
wearing down my faith
in humanity
and in my ability
to cope
and to hope.

I tremble
amid the swirling fear
and seething hatred
sickened
by the stench of brimstone;
the devil’s own cauldron
stirring
strife and separation,
fueled by lies,
vengeance,
greed
and envy
cooked together
to the boiling point –
the Evil One
never suffers
from an energy crisis.

And I confess
that I contribute
to the conflagration;
when I burn
with resentment,
am aflame
with outrage,
or filled
with self-righteous
indignation
(read: foolishness).

Why, o God,
why is it
so hard
to resist
the temptation
to fight
fire with fire –
when everyone knows
that
just makes
more fire?

Why
is it so easy,
Faithful Friend,
to forget –
or ignore –
Your Message
of love
and compassion,
mercy
and healing grace?

Calm my spirit,
Source of Consolation;
bring me respite
from the riots
and the rackets,
the constant ranting
and ceaseless
rushing
of the world.

Open my ears,
All-Listening One,
that I may hear
Your words
above the whirlwind;
open my eyes
Radiant Lord,
so I can see
that Your holy light
far outshines
the neon’s glare.

Open my heart,
Beloved,
so I will speak
lovingly
and live
peacefully;
make me truly,
completely,
counter-culturally
Yours.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

