Out of the Depths

Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 29, 2012

Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord!
~ Psalm 130:1

Oh my God.
It’s dark down here,
in this shadowy place
where I languish
despairing,
exhausted,
unmoving;

I might be
mistaken
for a stone,
tossed
thoughtlessly
into
an empty well;

of no value,
a solitary rock,
pitched
into the bleak
dry
infernal
nothingness,

speechless,
silent,
words
fall
crushing me
beneath the weight
of meaninglessness;

I do not smile
or laugh
or shout,
or cry,
or frown;
walled in
by dank sameness.

Oh my God,
I wonder
if You
can hear
from here
the still small voice
of my despair.

I believe
in Your mercy,
Your compassion,
Your faithfulness,
and Your Love;
I believe
in You.

And so I will wait.
I will wait,
O my God,
for You;
I will wait
like a watchman for the morning,
like a watchman for the morning.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

