Waiting for God in Silence

Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 7, 2012

For God alone my soul in silence waits;
from him comes my salvation. ~ Psalm 62:1

Waiting in silence –
well, a sort of silence,
in between the fussing
and toe-tapping impatience –
I wait
for God.

Actually that’s not true –
I don’t know
what I’m waiting for;
it might be God
or it might be
something else.

If I’m really honest –
what I’m waiting for
is a miracle:
an Act of God
that effects a solution
to all my problems.

I’m not waiting –
praying and listening
with faith-filled patience;
there is no soul-stillness,
no calm expectancy
of a divine reveal.

I’m daydreaming,
fantasizing endlessly
about a holy “fix”
that will make
all things
all right.

I don’t want to listen,
for sacred insights,
I want to tell God
how to arrange things
so all is perfect –
according to my plans.

Yet the answers –
my answers –
have failed to come;
why does God remain
so stonily silent,
when I’ve been so loud?

Then, in a moment of quiet,
an unpleasant understanding
reveals itself to me:
we cannot hear
any other speech
while we ourselves are talking.

Give me the gift, Lord,
of a tranquil spirit,
a quiet mind,
and a listening heart;
let me hear, in the stillness
Your blessed words to me.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

