Psalm 11

Psalm Eleven ~ I Trust in God
interpreted by Deborah Beach Giordano
and dedicated to “Darkhorse”
© April 25, 2012

I take refuge in the Lord as I hear you say,
“Get a bird’s eye view of that hilltop;
there you’ll see how the wicked arm themselves
and shoot from hidden places,
seeking to ambush
and terrorize the brave of heart.”

When order turns to chaos
and storms and sniper fire,
shouts and screams surround us,
when the very foundation of the earth
seems to shake beneath our feet …
what are we to do?

God is utter holiness,
whose rule is divine,
whose justice is perfect,
whose mercy is never-ending.

Looking upon the world,
our Creator sees beneath the pretense,
assessing our desires,
understanding our fears,
forgiving our failings,
restoring our souls.

The Giver of Life upholds me,
strengthening my resolve,
sustaining my hope,
setting my feet on solid ground.

You, O Eternal One, You alone are my fortress,
my rock and my redeemer.
I am sheltered by Your love,
and though I walk through the valley
of the shadow of death
I will fear no evil,
for You are with me.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

