Shekinah in Exile

Deborah Beach Giordano
© April 2, 2012

“Whoever does not dance does not know what happens. Amen.
I have no house and I have houses. Amen.
I have no place and I have places. Amen.
I have no temple and I have temples. Amen.”
~ from The Round Dance of the Cross

When what we have begins to own us,
when our creation begins to mold us,
when earth-bound things begin to hold us,
our footsteps heavy,
the dance becomes a march,
the temple, a prison.

Shekinah spreads her wings
a vast skyward shout
breaking all barriers
shattering limitations
stirring the cosmos
with delight.

Unconfined,
unrestricted,
I am nowhere
and everywhere;
I am stillness
and constant movement.

I am no one’s
and I am yours.

I am the bright Evening Star
and the depths of the deepest ocean,
I am the graceful swan
and the sturdy gray-green toad;
I am the budding flower
and the fallen leaf.

I am the beginning
and I am the end.

Wherever I am,
there you’ll be.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

