A Lesson from the Birds

Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 28, 2012

Because You have been my helper,
I sing in the shadow of Your wings.
        ~ Psalm 63:7

A baby bird is born knowing how to use his voice; as soon as he breaks through his shell the peeping begins: “Hey! I’m here! And I’m hungry! Don’t forget about me!!”
There is no subtlety, no politeness, no prologues or pretty-pleases – just an insistence on what he needs.

That’s very wise: ask for what you need, directly and unhesitatingly.

Humans rarely do that. Whether we need a helping hand from a coworker or an encouraging word from the Lord, we tend to drop hints, make suggestions, and generally wait for Someone to notice what we’re hoping to receive. And when our unspoken wishes are not granted, we feel disappointed and unloved.

I will set up a raucous peeping
right under Your nose, gracious Creator –
because You never fail to answer me,
and I need Your attention.
      ~ Psalm 63:7, as interpreted by Deborah

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Lesson from the Birds

  1. Cheryl Anne says:

    This is a lesson I desperately needed to learn, and boy did it take a while! It’s amazing though how my life has changed since I began peeping!

  2. Deborah says:

    “Peep and ye shall receive” ?
    ;-D

Leave a Reply

