Prayer and the Rock

Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 22, 2012

Come on, join in! Let’s sing to the Lord;
let’s make a joyful noise
to the rock of our salvation.
~ Psalm 95:1

I have to tell You, Lord God,
sometimes it really does feel
as if I’m praying
to a rock;

a hard, silent stone
that neither hears
nor answers
nor cares.

I cry and my tears
slip across its gray unyielding surface.
I shout and it remains unmoved,
I sing and it does not dance.

I sit beside it in the darkness
and there is no warmth,
no tenderness,
no place to lay my head.

In bright midday
it is motionless and still,
my words skimming over its face,
never reaching the deep Within.

If I had a hammer
of just the right sort,
I know I could
break through.

I could get beneath the surface
and reach the hidden truth;
I’d discover
all that I needed to know.

When life is hard
and the way is rocky.
we must chip away
with patient, persistent prayer.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

