inspired by Psalm 23

Deborah Beach Giordano
© August 7, 2011

The Lord
is my guide,
my protector,
and friend;
with God
I have
everything I need.

He is the peaceful place
where I can rest,
safe and undisturbed;
a serene sanctuary
above the turbulence of daily life
away from the troubles
that torment my spirit.

In His presence
my strength is restored,
I regain my balance
and find my footing
so I may follow
the sweet, saving Path
He has set before me.

With the Lord by my side
I am as brave as a lion,
for nothing can harm me –
together
we roar a mighty challenge
and fear disappears
like a shadow at midday.

The light of Your love,
O blessed Savior
awakens my heart
and fills it
with celestial music;
my life becomes a song
in celebration of You.

I rejoice
in Your boundless love,
most holy, gracious Lord,
and I fear no evil
for You have claimed me;
I am Yours
forever and ever.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

