Magnificat!

Luke 1:46-55
as interpreted by
Deborah Beach Giordano
© July 19, 2011

And Mary said,
“I can do this thing –
I will do this thing –
because the Mighty One has chosen me,
and has infused my spirit
with the power and grace
that I need.

A great Light
has come to us;
a beam
from God’s radiance
struck my heart –
filling it
to overflowing
with love
and courage.

It is no longer I who live,
but my Savior
who lives in me;
what I do,
I do for the Lord
and for God’s people –
that we may be free
and strong
and fearless.

He is the King,
the mighty one
who cannot be defeated,
the holy one
whose justice
will not be mocked;
He is merciful
to the penitent,
compassionate
to the sorrowing,
and generous
to those in need.

The wicked
He does not abide:
foiling their plots,
blunting their weapons,
scattering their riches;
He restores the land
and showers blessings
upon His people.

God is
our very present help,
supporting
and sustaining us,
always faithful
to the Promise
He made to our ancestors,
to Abraham
and to his descendants
forever.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

