“I Will Step on You to Win”

Deborah Beach Giordano
© July 6, 2011

“I will step on you to win”
warns
the tee shirt
worn
by smug adolescents
spending their inheritance
on clothing
stained
with the sweat
of weary Chinese children
and imprisoned Christians,
funding a corporation
fronted
by a multi-millionaire
who tosses footballs
and tortures animals
for fun
and profit:
“I will step on you to win.”

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I Will Step on You to Win”

  1. Doug Bentley says:

    I saw a photo of a young man in Spain wearing this shirt and was immediately revulsed by the message. I am reading No Logo by Naomi Klein and it is all abouut Nike and their perverse and pervasive promotion of their brand.

    Thanks for your comment on this subject.

    Doug – in upstate NY

    • Hi, Doug, and thanks for the comment and book recommendation, will add it to my reading list. Like you, when I saw the phrase, I was horrified: I guess the concept of Good Sportsmanship has been discarded. Phooey! All the best, Deborah

Leave a Reply

