Psalm 139

Deborah Beach Giordano
© July 3, 2011

Lord, you have searched
and discovered
me:

you’ve seen through
my disguises
and dissembling;
the masks I wear,
the acts I put on,
the lies I tell –
even the ones
I tell
to myself.

All the world’s a stage
and Lord,
I’m a major player:
performing anew
each day:
a costumed character,
following a script
grown trite
and stale
with over-use.

Yet You,
Author of my life,
see the person
behind the persona,

the me
beneath the make-believe;
You shine a spotlight
on my soul.

If I rise
to the heights
of fame,
sink far
in the depths
of depravity,
or exit, stage left,
pursued by a bear –
wherever I am,
whatever I do,
You are there.

At the early hours
of morning,
in the heat of midday sun,
when the nightly curtain
has fallen,
neither time nor tide
can hide
me from Your sight.

Despite it all,
O Gracious Lover,
though You know
everything
there is
to know –
the flaws
and flubs
and fakery –
You still claim me
as your own.

That fact
leaves me breathless
with astonishment
and fills my heart
with joy;
and
I want to stand up
and cheer
for You.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

