the passing of a 4-legged companion

Only those who have been loved
by a four-legged friend can understand
the heartbreak of their passing,
and the great joy their presence
brings to our lives.

Good-bye, my old friend

dedicated to Ti-Kwai-Li
and his family, Rosamonde and David
Deborah Beach Giordano
© June 12, 2011

Good-bye, my old friend,
I see you now,
through my tears
as you were
when we first met;
your eyes bright
with new-born curiosity
and age-old wisdom;

your heart strong
with vibrant health
and boundless love;

even in youth
you were poised
and possessed of serene
certain dignity;

and throughout
your long life
you graciously
accepted our offerings
and adoration
as was only right
and fair
for one
with such a regal past.

You kept
your own counsel,
never revealing
all that you had seen
and knew;
a true gentleman
and holy guardian,
keeping watch
and holding confidences.

Loyal companion,
ever-present and patient
in times of need,
always ready to listen,
to comfort,
and reassure
with love
too deep
for words …
how can I say
good-bye?

My final gift to you –
the last true measure
of my faith,
a paltry return
to your lifelong dedication –
is to be with you
now
as your precious soul
transforms
into a new form,
capable of carrying
that vital essence
to another place.

Good-bye, my old friend,
until we meet again
I will hold you
as I hold you now,
in my heart –
where you live
in perfect health,
and radiant beauty
eternally.

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful:
The Lord God made them all.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

