Confession # 91

Confession # 91

Inspired by Psalm 91
Deborah Beach Giordano
© April 26, 2011

With the psalmist
I declare:
“God is my refuge
and my shelter;
my Savior
in whom I trust.”

Such a confident,
courageous,
and inspiring
testimony
to faith
and belief!

How blessed
if I could profess it
always
and not just
when times are good
and my soul is at peace.

But alas, O Lord,
I cannot
make the same brave
and convincing confession
in the middle
of the night

when ancient specters
improbable fears,
monstrous worries,
and wild imaginings
haunt the hallways
of my mind

roaming unrestrained,
shrieking threats
and accusations,
awakening long-held grudges,
half-forgotten guilt,
and unforgiven hurts.

Scatter these unpleasantries,
most Holy One, my Lord,
as bats take hurried wing
at the first pale herald
announcing the rising
of the sun;

send them away,
as fog vanishes
in the warmth of bright midday,
as an echo fades
and soon dies out;
lost to time and memory.

Hear my prayer,
sweet and gracious Savior,
shelter my soul
from dreamscape horrors,
sustain my courage
through every storm,

comfort my heart
in daylight and in darkness,
lift my spirit
far above
the temptation
to despair;

in Your compassion,
O Beloved One,
never let me fall,
and when my time is ended
lead me safely
to that farther shore.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

