Like those who watch …

Like those who watch for the morning…

Deborah Beach Giordano
© April 10, 2011

Compassionate Listener,
hear my cry
from the depths
of the dark
and empty night; 

sleep
as elusive as smoke,
I pace the room
shrouded
in chenille

haunted
by unsettled ghosts
of injustices
from long ago
calling for revenge,

taunted
by my memories
and cursing my regrets
over what I did –
and didn’t – do.

The echoing recriminations
are interrupted
by a sound
from here
and now;

the plainsong
chanting
of a distant owl:
my companion
on the watch.

All at once
his voice –
so soft and tender –
turns my world
upside down.

For I hear in it
a proclamation:
a message
holy, sweet
and sure;

just as he calls
with great persistence
undaunted,
throughout
the darkest night

this winged servant
of wisdom
sits with quiet,
patient assurance,
awaiting a Reply

listening for an answer;
believing
where he does not yet hear;
seeing
with the eyes of faith.

God of the day
and of the night,
help me
to see You –
even in the dark ….

 

Even the darkness is not dark to You, and the night shines like the day. Darkness and light are alike to You.
~ Psalm 139:12

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

