The Wistful Lover

The Wistful Lover

inspired by Psalm 42
Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 11, 2011

As an otter delights
in the flowing river,
so my soul delights
in You, o Holy One. 

I yearn for my Beloved,
the Eternal, Timeless Source
of perfect joy.

As a lost lamb bleats,
so I cry,
“Let me see Your face,
Light of my Life!”

I walk the busy streets
gazing hopefully
at the faces passing by
like an abandoned child
searching for a missing parent.

My appetite has vanished,
every morsel tastes of salty tears;
I do not sleep,
for I await my adored One
who may arrive without warning,
like a thief in the night.

In the darkness
I remember
the days gone by
when glory shone round about;
when I felt the Presence of God
as close as my breath,
as near as my heartbeat …

I remember the giddy joy
of each moment
filled with holy confidence
and abundant optimism;
when I was certain
that, with God,
nothing is impossible.

Why, then, am I downcast?
Sweet sister Soul,
what troubles you?
Have you lost your way?
Though it seems far away,
the Light is still shining;
the darkness will not
overcome us.

Have faith –
just a little
will be enough;
a mere crumb from the table
will nourish the spirit;
from a tiny seed
transforming hope can grow.

And so I pray,
calling out to God –
the eternal, the gracious, the good –
Don’t forget me!

My heart is breaking
at this long separation,
dearest Companion of my Soul,
renew my faith,
restore my vision;
let me see Your glory
in the land of the living.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

