Heaven’s Door

Heaven’s Door

Deborah Beach Giordano
© January 18, 2011

Does anyone deserve
to enter
the Pearly Gates,
or and have the right
to pass through
Heaven’s door? 

Can even the greatest
of those
who trod upon earth
have been truly good
utterly fair
and unfailingly kind;
avoiding each and every
evil impulse
and any thought
of wickedness?

As for me,
I would be afraid
to approach
the holy,
perfect Presence;
I’m sure
I’d leave a trail
of muddy sin prints
all over heaven’s
pure and spotless floor

and be chased out
the back door
and down
the marble steps
by a fastidious
feathered denizen;
pure of spirit
and whitely gowned,

who would
erase
every trace
of my visit
with a quick
and thorough
sweeping
of luminescent wings.

I’d sit
shivering
and whimpering
as I sadly
scratched
on the screen,

hungering for
just the smallest crumb
from the table
of the glorious feast
being held inside.

The lonely wind
would howl
across the endless,
empty space
and my trembling heart
will nearly break.

Then
I just know it –
I can feel it,
deep in my bones –
I will suddenly
be lifted up
and cuddled
in His arms;

He’ll look at me
with all my flaws
and see
only the good;
He’ll hold me close,
and dry my tears,
and claim me
as His own;

He will lead me
through
the bright doorway,
into one
of innumerable rooms;
there will be plenty of space
at the banquet
and I’ll get to sit
right next to Him;

My cup of joy
will overflow.

His radiant love
will restore my soul,
and I will dwell
in the House of the Lord
forever.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

