Sing!

Sing!

Inspired by Psalm 96
Deborah Beach Giordano
© December 22, 2010

“Sing!” says the Psalmist,
“Sing a new song to God.” 

Sing??
Me???
Clearly
the psalmist
has never heard
me
sing

otherwise
he would
have made
a different
suggestion,
I’m certain.

On the other hand,
God made frogs
who growl
and cough
and gargle
their songs
of celebration
on every
rainy day.

Blue jays
shriek
and shout
at the sight
of sunflower seeds;
avian hallelujahs
that ring
throughout
the trees.

Dolphins
click and chirp,
lions roar
with pride,
coyotes wail,
sea lions bark,
and whales
bellow
salty psalms.

These are the sounds
of heartfelt praise
that anyone can hear;
as all Creation
lifts its voice
in wordless verses
filled with joy.

There is no concern
with perfect pitch
or four-part harmony,
all music is sweet
when it arises
from unfettered delight.

And so I’ll do
as the psalmist said,
and sing a sacred song
with all my might
and all my love
from my grateful,
happy soul.

Because I care
about the world
and all who dwell
herein ….
I’ll lift my voice
to heaven above
in a place where
only God
and I
can hear.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

