Joseph’s Dream

Joseph’s Dream

Deborah Beach Giordano
© December 12, 2010

A dream:
a dream
that I cannot forget,
that troubles my mind
and disturbs my sleep;
a dream
filled with muffled sounds,
and misty images,
that fills my soul
with confusion;
a dream
that returns
night after night.

Is it
a heaven-sent
commandment:
holy words
to take to heart?
Or a chorus
of chimera;
foolish thoughts
and idle fantasies,
alluring
in their
gauzy veils?

Is it the Tempter,
enticing me
to sin
by allowing
a fallen woman
to escape
her just punishment,
and turning myself
into an object
of gossip;
condemned as immoral
or derided as foolish –
or both?

Or is it
the Voice
that provoked
our ancient prophets;
persistent,
loud,
demanding,
“Ignore your pride,
set aside your vanity,
and let love
lead the way.”

I am a righteous man
from an honorable family;
generations
upon generations,
we have obeyed
the Law
and the Commandments,
to the letter.

Yet this dream
has caused me to wonder;
to ponder many things;
to question
what I’ve always
been taught
and unfailingly
believed.

A righteous man
defends the widow
and protects the orphan;
he does what is good
and avoids what is evil;
he honors his parents
in all he says and does.

But who is my father –
if not our Father above?
How is He honored,
if not by charity?
What is good,
if not goodheartedness?
What is purity,
if not based on purest love?

For that is the voice
that sings in my ears,
the heavenly message
impossible to deny;
the love
that fills my heart,
the music of my soul
that gives meaning
to my life.

I offer humble thanks to You,
Eternal, Gracious Lord,
for this unexpected,
sacred gift;
a new understanding
of what is right and true,
and a family
born of love.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

