The Voter’s Prayer

The Voter’s Prayer

(A Prayer in a Time of Chaos)

Deborah Beach Giordano
© October 14, 2010

Gracious Creator,
who brought forth
this whole wide wonderful world
out of chaos,
guide me
so that I may bring order
out of the chaos
that surrounds me.

Clear my mind
of all the clutter,
disjointed thinking,
and needless worries;
help me to focus
on what is important,
to understand
the consequences,
and to accomplish
what is necessary.

Strengthen my resolve
and encourage my spirit
so that I may face
my responsibilities
with calm confidence
and prevail –
no matter how complex
the problem,
how intricate
the details,
how difficult
the solution.

Eternal, Holy God,
make me ever-mindful
of the Path
that leads to You;
that I may be strong
in my faith,
loving in my actions,
just and fair
in my decisions.

Dearly Beloved,
keep my heart safe:
warm, tender, and strong;
so I will not discard
compassion
in the interest
of convenience,
or compromise fairness
in pursuit of efficiency,
and that I never mistake
earthly riches
for wealth.

Shine Your light
on all plans,
programs,
promises,
and proposals;
illuminate
every illusion,
deception,
and lie,
that their true nature
will stand revealed.

Most of all, Precious One,
shine that Light on me:
reveal
to me
just who I am;
and who I’m called to be.

Infuse my soul
with Your great Spirit,
inflame my heart
with Your transforming love
so I may do Your will;
and walk in Your Way
now and in all the days to come.

Amen.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

