Psalm of Protection

Inspired by Psalm 91

(the traditional “Psalm of Protection”)

Deborah Beach Giordano
© September 15, 2010

I am safe and secure in God,
like a baby bird
beneath its mother’s wing
amid the soft, warm feathers,
soothed by the gentle,
steady heartbeat,
and a tummy
full of worms –
which is
just what the doctor ordered,
if you’re a baby bird.

Cheered by the bright dawn,
delighted to be alive,
I am joyfully learning
how to sing
my very own
personal song.

I am not afraid
of the darkest night,
no noises or shadows
alarm me,
nothing evil can touch me,
no enemy can reach me,
for my home
is in the sky.

Above all the chaos,
beyond any danger,
I look upon the earth
without fear,
without hatred;
free from any need
to hurt or harm,
any desire for revenge.

I am at peace:
a calm observer
of the world
as it is,
filled with pity
for those who
suffer and stumble –
the heedless and helpless
who have forgotten
that they
can fly.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

