a prayer

for one dealing with a terminal illness

Holy gracious God,
let it be for me
and for those I love,
on earth
as it is in heaven;

let me know You
truly and deeply,
be as real to me
as to the angels
who have seen You
face to face.

Restore my trust in You
despite the pain;
give me courage
instead of fear;
let hope and peace
banish my despair;
bring understanding
where now confusion reigns.

We spend our lives
giving and receiving
simple answers
to impossible questions;
smiling and nodding
as if we know it all…
and then life –
or rather death –
intervenes,
and our house of cards
collapses.

What shall we do?
What can we say?
How will we make sense
of the inconceivable?
How can we find meaning
in the madness?

Where is God in this?

Where God always was,
and will always be:
Immanuel – God is with us,
wherever we are,
in the midst of everything;
even the pain,
even the darkness,
even the sickness:
God abides.

Strengthen my faith,
Lover of my Soul;
help me to believe
where I have
not yet seen.

Sustain me,
Gracious God,
now
and throughout
the time to come.

How long, O Lord?

Doctors and nurses –
those officials in white coats –
make their pronouncements
as if they know:
as if it is up to them to decide,
as if they can determine
how long we shall live
and when we shall die.

And we believe them,
Eternal, Unfailing One,
we believe what they say
to be true and perfect –
the gospel, you might say –
we treat their guesses
as divine prophecies,
rather than utterly human
estimates.

The final Word is Yours,
Giver of Life,
Bestower of goodness,
Redeemer of our souls;
it is all up to You.

Whether I live
or die
I am the Lord’s;
a beloved sheep
of Your dear flock,
whom You will bring Home
at the time
of Your own deciding.

Lift my spirits
Merciful One,
give comfort
to my body,
give peace
to my soul;
bless
those dear to me,
help us to cherish
each hour
of every day
until that day
when You
lift my spirit
up to heaven
to rest
in purest bliss
with You.

Amen.

Deborah Beach Giordano
September 15, 2010

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

