God’s Voice

Inspired by Psalm 118

Deborah Beach Giordano
© September 8, 2010
Thank God for God,
who never gives up:
day after day,
night after night,
the Holy One waits
and watches
and listens;

a gentle Presence
that abides eternally,
a compassion
that is unfailing,
a mercy unending,
a love that lasts
forever.

I cried out,
squalling like an infant:
helpless,
confused,
distressed and disturbed;
startled
by unknown sounds,
frightened
by lurking shadows,
terrified
by things seen
and unseen.

And God answered;
not in the thunder,
nor in lightning,
not in hailstorms
or hurricanes,
but in stillness:
a holy quiet
that blessed
everything it touched.

At first I didn’t hear it:
but that
is no surprise;
hidden,
as it was –
beneath
the humming machines,
the revving engines,
the buzzing phones,
the barking dogs,
the blaring commercials,
the pointless
conversations,
the meaningless
chatter,
the scuffling,
shuffling footsteps –

hidden
behind
the wall of noise
we’ve erected
so we
can ignore
God,
there was
God!

Clear as day,
larger than life,
sweeter than angel songs,
there was God –
right there
under my nose,
in front of my eyes,
right there:
ringing in my ears
in the silence.

And when I heard it,
it took my breath away:
the still,
small
voice;
the whisper
of eternity:
a warm
and cosy
quietness –
alive
with love
and peace
and joy.

I was surrounded,
immersed,
inspired;
infused
with holy courage;
awakened
to divine possibility.

And I was not afraid.

For if God is with me,
who can be against me?

Our Gracious Creator
heard my prayer,
and brought me to a safe place;
set me high upon a rock,
and as if at a great distance
I could see
how small my troubles,
how vast
the stretch of eternity,
how endless
is God’s love.

There are still times –
often hours –
when I forget
what my heart
has learned;
when the
buzzing bustling
busy-ness
of life
muffles
that still sweet Voice,
and my courage
falters
and my foot
will slip.

They are reminders
to pause,
to take a breath,
to listen for
the saving song
that some
mistake for silence:
the sound of God’s
gentle whisper:
Do not be afraid,
for
I
am
here.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Scriptures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

