a Psalm of Gratitude

Inspired by Psalm 139

Deborah Beach Giordano
© August 31, 2010

Gracious Beloved, what is there for me to say?
You know my every movement,
my every thought
and dream
and scheme.

You are with me when I awaken,
and when I go to sleep,
and you stay beside me
throughout
long
restless
nights.

You know
what I’m going to say
before I begin to speak;
You know my joys,
my fears
and my heart’s desire.

You are everywhere I am;
usually unnoticed,
and too-often ignored.
Yet you never forsake me.

Your love preserves
and sustains my life.

The holy, precious connection
that runs between us
is awe-inspiring
and nearly beyond belief:
what are humans
that You are mindful of us?

I am made
according to your design;
each organ,
muscle,
bone,
and sinew
in its rightful place;
wonderful in every aspect.

It all fits together,
perfectly.

Touched by the Divine hand,
my body is a sacred site:
a gift,
a joy,
a holy trust.
Who could dare
to believe it?
Who could
ever doubt it?

You have known me
from the beginning;
before all time,
before Creation;
You planned my being,
and You care for me.

Beyond all hope,
beyond all imagining,
You love us
with a greater love
than any has ever known.

And I bow my head
in humble, grateful thanks.
You, O Gracious and Almighty
Maker of Heaven and Earth,
You are my God
and I love you.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

