Noah’s Tears

Noah’s Tears

Oh God, can you hear my cries?

The grief
once restrained
by decorum
and obligations
has burst through;
my faith
has given way,
my strength
has collapsed;
my tears
are unstoppable.

I am adrift
in sorrow,
regret,
loneliness,
confusion,
and disbelief;
the center of my life
has been
swept away
and nothing
remains.

I think of Noah
on the ark
seeing the places
he had once known
vanish.
Watching the waves
destroy
every living thing.
Weeping
constantly.

No hope of rescue,
no where to go;
dark clouds above
pitiless waters below
a vast expanse
of endless
unfathomable
terror;
nothing to do
but hold on
and pray.

I scan the skies
for a raven,
a dove,
or – how I wish it! –
a rainbow:
some sign
of hope
to light my way
and warm
my heart;
and I hold on
and pray.

Deborah Beach Giordano
© May 25, 2010

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

