Seeking His Face

“Listen, O Lord, when I call out to You: be gracious to me and answer me! ‘Come,’ my heart says, ‘seek his face!’ Your face, Lord, do I seek. Do not hide Your face from me!”
~ Psalm 27:7-9

Seeking His Face

   

Where can I find You, O Beloved?
Are You in the Springtime breeze
that ruffles my hair
and touches my face
as gently as a loving mother?

Are You in the morning sun
that warms the earth,
inspiring the flowers
to lift up their songs of praise,
and the birds to shout hallelujah?

Are You in the clouds
crossing heaven in stately majesty,
transforming with each step,
revealing a new creation
of water and the Spirit?

Are You in the sudden shower
that clears the air,
fills the streams,
covers the trees with jewels,
and brings the frogs to life?

Are You in the stillness
of the afternoon;
the restful silence
that calms the soul,
and makes the heart sigh: “Peace.”?

Are You in the blue-black twilight,
combining daytime and dark night,
when owls take wing,
badgers prowl,
and crickets count the hours?

Are You in all that lives and breathes,
in rocks and stones and waterfalls,
in mountains and in molehills,
in forest trees and desert sands,
in honeycombs and poppy seeds?

You are there, my dearest best Beloved,
at all times, in all places:
on the earth, in the sea and sky –
shouting out “Here I am!”
in Your longing to be found.

Deborah Beach Giordano
© May 18, 2010

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

