A Sleepless Night Meditation

A Sleepless Night Meditation


Here we are, Lord;
You and me,
awake together
in the middle of the night.

It’s just the two of us;
all of the rest
of the world
is sleeping soundly.

That’s how it seems
at this dark lonely time,
as I unwillingly keep
the post-midnight vigil.

I think of all the souls
now and in times long-past
who have kept watch
as I now do …

I hear their voices;
whispers in the shadows,
quiet prayers,
and silent tears,

I feel their aching hearts,
fervent desires,
fierce yearnings,
and terrible fears.

And I can see we two
are not alone at all,
O Companion of my soul,
but part of a great colony:

the tribe of those
who wait and watch
with prayers and supplications
until the new day dawns.

Deborah Beach Giordano
© March 23, 2010

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

