Too Much Noise

Too Much Noise

Inspired by Psalm 63
Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 26, 2010

Holy God,
Light of my Life,
Joy of my desiring …

I am lonely,
I miss Your voice,
the touch of Your hand,
the grandeur of Your Presence –
the comfort that only You can bring.

I know You’re there
because You always are,
and You have promised
never to abandon me.

But sometimes…..
maybe
I don’t hear so well;
traffic roars,
machines buzz,
phones ring,
people shout and pout
and get nasty.

All the noise
drowns out Your words.

I get distracted
by worries and troubles,
deadlines and disruptions,
dirty laundry,
flight delays,
lost keys,
doctor’s visits,
moldy cheese,
and office politics.

With all that’s going on,
it’s a wonder I can think at all.

There’s a saying
that people are always quoting
at times like these:
“When you come to the end of your rope …
tie a knot
and
hang
on.”

Hang on –
that’s what I need to do:
I need to wait,
to be still,
to silence the chatter,
quiet the noise,
ignore the distractions –
and quit complaining.

I need to shut up
and listen for You.

But, o my God!
That’s so much easier
to talk about
than to accomplish;
far easier for me
to recommend to others
than to do myself.

Especially
when I’m feeling
edgy
and fretful
and cranky….

Especially
when I need You
the most.

But I won’t give up,
I’ll keep on calling,
and keep on listening –
because I know that
You are there,

And I know that
I will hear Your voice
again –
and my soul
will rejoice.

Be still, and know that I am God!

I am exalted among the nations,
I am exalted in the earth.

The Lord of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our refuge.

Psalm 46:10-11

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

