Holy Comforter

Holy Comforter

Inspired by Psalm 27

Deborah Beach Giordano
© February 23, 2010

Like a night light shining
when I awaken at 3 a.m.,
the Beloved gives me comfort
just when I need it.

Like the pink and purple clouds
that glow in the morning sky,
God fills my heart with gentle joys
when I least expect it.

When troubles arise,
tragedy strikes,
when suffering and sickness,
sorrows and death hover near ..

when enemies assemble,
and lies are told,
threats are uttered,
traps are set …

Whatever comes my way,
I will stand secure;
no devils or dangers
will frighten me.

Even if the world turns against me,
I will not turn away,
though friends abandon me,
I will be strong.

Light my path, Holy One,
let me know that you are with me,
especially
in these dark and scary times;

Knock on the door of my heart,
Great Awakener,
stir my soul to action,
and my spirit to mighty deeds.

Be my Comforter for always
so I can face each day with courage,
instead of staying in bed
and hiding under the covers.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

