A Call to Awaken

A Call to Awaken

I walked along
 the well-worn path
seeing nothing;
blind to all hope
and any possibility
of peace or joy.

In the middle 
of a meadow,
lushly-green
from spring rains,
where newborn flowers
raised their fragile heads

I trudged 
through
a desert;
dry,
lifeless,
empty.

I was deaf
to the cheerful
chirping crickets,
and did not hear
the small green frog
croak out his greeting.

Surrounded
by blue jays
and ladybugs,
crows
and katydids,
I felt alone.

Constant surveillance
by a tribe of squirrels
did not alter 
my conviction
that no one cared;

nor did the 
faithful visits from
a pair of blue-gray moths
who spent their evenings
tapping on my window.

I was like one
who slumbered;
wrapped up 
in a deep
and dreamless sleep;

lost in the darkness,
unaware
of the beauty and grace
of the holy Presence
all around me.

Deborah Beach Giordano
© January 26, 2010

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

