The Puzzle

The Puzzle

Deborah Beach Giordano
© January 12, 2010

For Christmas
just for fun
I received a jigsaw puzzle,
the theme
was Noah’s Ark.

The colors
are bright,
the illustrations charming,
like pictures
from a nursery story.

It isn’t easy:
there are
a thousand tiny pieces,
and the pattern
is quite intricate.

The process
of assembly
is time consuming,
and requires
close attention.

The project
enthralls me,
and I work on it
a little bit
every day.

I built
the ark first;
but not from any
theological
consideration –

it was easiest;
the color
was all the same
and the pattern
matched up readily.

The rest,
however,
is more complicated;
bringing the animals together
is like herding ants.

The landscape
teems
with life;
every inch
is inhabited.

The trees
shelter
birds and bees,
and a suspiciously
fat and indolent snake.

At night,
sometimes,
I find myself
dreaming
of the puzzle.

The pieces
gradually
fall into place,
and everything’s together
just right.

In the morning
the puzzle
greets me
in its scattered beauty,
still unsolved.

Today I finished
most of trees,
and the pond
along the bottom;
and filled in all the fish.

Like God
in the days of Creation;
I’ve separated
the land
from the water …

And now
I’m working on
the people
who will be saved,
Noah and his family.

As a touch
of whimsy,
the artist added
three dinosaurs
lurking in a corner –

nearby two men
run toward them,
waving their arms;
determined to chase
the beasts away.

Maybe
I should take a break;
maybe I’ve been
staring at the picture
too long:

like a Magic Eye illustration,
when an image is revealed
only
when you look at it
a certain way.

But what I see
stands out a mile;
an eternal truth
hidden in plain sight
in crayon-bright colors.

As it was
from the beginning
is now
and shall be
always …

By what we choose
and how we act
we humans decide
which animals live or die
on the ark we’re all aboard.

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in General wonderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

