Praise Song

Praise Song

Sweet and loving Lord,
how I love you!

You are my rock, my fortress,
the Ground of my being,
the Lover of my soul,
the Salvation of my life;
my shield and defender,
my friend and my comforter,
the Source of my hope,
the Light of my heart,
the Joy of my desire,
the Author of the Promise,
the Designer of all Good…

’Though we try over and again,
our mere words cannot describe You,
nor human constructs confine You.
You are Absolute Freedom, Utter Beauty,
Limitless Compassion, Perfect Wisdom…

You are the One
beyond which there is nothing,
for there is nothing beyond You –
nothing is outside Your power
to bless and to heal.

All that is
has been touched by Your Grace,
and will be redeemed by Your love.
For Your compassion extends
from everlasting to everlasting.

Wherever I am
there You are.
Whenever I lift up my voice –
in daytime or darkest night –
You hear me.

And when words fail,
when fear or anger
steals my voice,
when sorrow or confusion
leaves me speechless,

You hear the prayers of my heart
and know the pain of my soul;
You sustain my hope and courage,
filling the morning sunrise
with a sweet and tender lovesong.

You light the nighttime sky
with a million brilliant stars,
to amaze and humble us –
what are humans,
that You are mindful of us?

The universe – all that is,
was, and ever shall be –
is Your precious Grand Design,
and we are privileged
to behold it;

more privileged yet
to be entrusted
with the care of Creation;
this marvelous Garden
filled with every delight:

where flowers bloom,
puppies frolic,
salmon
leap,
children laugh,
and penguins
do whatever it is
that penguins do.

Sweet and loving Lord,
how I love you!

Deborah Beach Giordano
© November 17, 2009

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

