In the Shadows

In the Shadows

There is no answer when I call,
O gracious God;
but a babel of voices
I cannot understand.

Where once I strode with confidence,
I now enter on tiptoe,
hesitant, fearful, uncertain
of what I might encounter.

A cloud has descended,
obscuring familiar places,
changing the landscape,
causing me to lose my way.

My loved ones say,
“O, that we might see some good!”
As they long for the light of reason
to shine brightly once again.

Sometimes I smile, Beloved,
at their anxious looks and tears,
wondering who it is whose memory
has truly become impaired.

For they have forgotten the gladness
that so often filled my heart,
and they can’t seem to remember
the many good times we enjoyed.

But You have not forgotten me,
O precious, patient Lord,
and walk with me as I pace the floor
of this Valley of Shadows.

Dedicated to all those who are walking in the shadow of Alzheimer’s Disease.

Deborah Beach Giordano
© November 4, 2009

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

