A Plea to be Avenged

A Plea to be Avenged

Dedicated to P.
Deborah Beach Giordano
© October 19, 2009

Oh my God,
it seems as if everyone is against me!
Everyone is telling me,
“There is no help for you.
Not even God can help.”

But You are supposed to be
the ever-present One;
the crown of peace,
the bearer of life,
the One who lifts up the downtrodden.

Well look no farther, God.
Here I am:
the poster child
for the downtrodden and despairing.

I cry out to you, by night and by day –
but there is no response.
I hear nothing;
only the troubling echoes of what was once
and is no more.

Rest and sleep are impossible;
sorrow and rage bat at my soul
back and forth
like a mouse between a cat’s paws.

Rise up, All Powerful One;
O my God, rescue me!
Strike down my enemies;
knock the teeth down
the throats of the wicked.

You are the savior;
victory is always Yours.
Empower your people.
Empower
me!

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

